Hi, I'm Tracy, and this is my first post on Save My CV! 

This post refers back to my previous experiences while performing HR duties the past 3 years. While not directly in charge of recruitment, I have noticed and observed that many HR personnel are an unfriendly bunch. Now how many of you will agree with me? When I see other departmental colleagues coming in to ask my HR colleague questions, I sense (and see) a high level of impatience. Questions relating to leave, workmen's compensation, salary issues...were all met with short abrupt answers and end up with a mini-lecture.

I asked the colleague why she talks in that manner to them. Her reply was HR has rules and guidelines to follow (this is a classic case of a 'C' in the DISC personality profiling) and we can't be too nice to them otherwise they'll step all over us. 

I accept her point but I don't agree. I hold a different view. I feel that HR should be a caring, nurturing department. At the point of recruitment, we act as the company's Ambassadors. An understanding, nurturing HR personnel will give off the impression that the company is a great and wonderful place to work in. (In the marketing world, we call this Employer Branding.) This doesn't mean I encourage rules to be broken. But if certain matters need explaining, we explain in a calm, clear and understanding manner. We don't bark at the employees and brush them away. But of course, when it comes to matters such as staff terminations due to failure to perform or trouble-maker employees, we definitely should take a very firm, no-nonsense approach.

I can only hope that the general attitudes of HR personnel will see a nice improvement in the years to come.



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Hi, I'm Tracy, a HR enthusiast for the past 6 years, always researching for ways to make CV's better in every way. Drop me an email!

    Archives

    December 2012
    November 2012

    Categories

    All